The antecedent of IPPA was originally founded in 1929. It was termed the Far Eastern Prehistory Association from 1953 to 1976, after which the name was changed to Indo-Pacific Prehistory Association.


To promote cooperation in the study of the prehistory of the Indo-Pacific region.

To maintain scholarly communication through regular congresses, communications, and the IPPA Bulletin.

To uphold ethical standards on research in prehistory.


IPPA President

Rasmi Shoocongdej

Department of Archaeology, Silpakorn University

IPPA Executive Committee

Cristina Castillo Cobo

Institute of Archaeology, University College London

Kate Domett

College of Medicine & Dentisty, James Cook University

Matthew Leavesley

College of Arts, Society & Education, James Cook University

Dougald O'Reilly

School of Archaeology & Anthropology, Australian National University

Shanti Pappu

Sharma Centre of Heritage Education

Prakash Sinha

Department of Ancient History, Culture & Archaeology, University of Allahabad

Mariko Yamagata

Department of Management, Okayama University of Science

Yu Chong

Department of Archaeology, Sun Yat-Sen University

IPPA Secretary-General

Philip Piper

School of Archaeology & Anthropology, Australian National University

Secretariat Administrator

Fredeliza Campos

Research School of Humanities & the Arts, Australian National University

Contact IPPA Secretariat



Co-Presidents for 2018 IPPA Congress

Nguyen Giang Hai

Vietnam Academy of Social Sciences

Phan Thanh Hai

Thua Thien Hue Provincial Government

IPPA Past Secretary-Generals

Ian Lilley

Peter Bellwood

IPPA Executive Committee (2010-2018)

Bérénice Bellina-Pryce

Charles Higham

Le Thi Lien

Victor Paz

Himanshu Ray

Miriam Stark

Glenn Summerhayes

†Nishimura Masanari

IPPA Past Presidents

Phon Kaseka (Cambodia), 2014-2018

Nguyen Giang Hai (Vietnam), 2009-2013

Willie Ronquillo (Philippines), 2006-2008

Tsang Cheng-hwa (Taiwan), 2004-2006

†Adi Haji Taha (Malaysia), 2000-2004

Pisit Charoenwongsa (Thailand), 1996-2000

†R.P. Soejono (Indonesia), 1992-1996

†Roger C. Green (New Zealand), 1988-1992

†V.N. Misra (India), 1984-1988

Jack Golson (Australia), 1980-1984

†Wilhelm G. Solheim II (U.S.A.), 1976-1980