About IPPA

IPPA is an international nonprofit organisation dedicated to the study of archaeology and other related fields in the Indo-Pacific region. Since its inception more than fifty years ago, it has grown to a large community of scholars and practitioners from over 40 different countries. 

The antecedent of IPPA was originally founded in 1929. It was termed the Far Eastern Prehistory Association from 1953 to 1976, after which the name was changed to Indo-Pacific Prehistory Association.


To promote cooperation in the study of the prehistory and related subjects in the Indo-Pacific region.

To maintain scholarly communication through regular congresses, communications, and the IPPA Bulletin (Journal of the Indo-Pacific Archaeology since 2014).

To uphold ethical standards on research in archaeology.

>>>IPPA Constitution

IPPA 15th Congress (1994) in Chiang Mai, Thailand (photo courtesy of Peter Bellwood)

Organisational Structure Officers elected by the membership, comprise a President and an Executive Committee of eight members drawn from across the IPPA region. A Secretary-General and Editor(s) are appointed by the Executive Committee. 

During its 212t Congress held in Hue, Vietnam last September 2018, Professor Philip Piper was selected by the incumbent Executive Committee as the next IPPA Secretary-General. He replaced Professor Ian Lilley, who held the position from 2009 to 2018, and with this decision the President and Executive Committee finished their terms. In 2019, a new president and executive committee for IPPA was elected.

IPPA President

Rasmi Shoocongdej Department of Archaeology, Silpakorn University


Philip Piper School of Archaeology and Anthropology, Australian National University

Executive Committee

Cristina Castillo Institute of Archaeology, University College London

Kate Domett College of Medicine and Dentistry, James Cook University

Matthew Leavesley School of Social Science, University of Queensland

Dougald O'Reilly School of Archaeology and Anthropology, Australian National University

Shanti Pappu Sharma Centre of Heritage Education

Prakash Sinha Department of Ancient History, Culture and Archaeology, University of Allahabad

Mariko Yamagata Rikkyo University

Yu Chong Department of Archaeology, Sun Yat-Sen University

Secretariat Administrator

Fredeliza Campos School of Archaeology and Anthropology, Australian National University

Previous Secretariat and Committees

Co-Presidents for 2018 IPPA Congress 

Nguyễn Giang Hải

Vietnam Academy of Social Sciences

Phan Thanh Hải

Thua Thien Hue Provincial Government

IPPA Executive Committee (2010-2018)

Bérénice Bellina

Charles Higham

Lê Thị Liên

Victor Paz

Himanshu Ray

Miriam Stark

Glenn Summerhayes

Nishimura Masanari

IPPA Past Secretary-Generals

Ian Lilley

University of Queensland

Peter Bellwood

Australian National University

IPPA Past Presidents 

Phon Kaseka (Cambodia) 2014-2018

Nguyễn Giang Hải (Vietnam) 2009-2013

Willie Ronquillo (Philippines) 2006-2008

Tsang Cheng-hwa (Taiwan) 2004-2006

Adi Haji Taha (Malaysia) 2000-2004

Pisit Charoenwongsa (Thailand) 1996-2000

R.P. Soejono (Indonesia) 1992-1996

Roger C. Green (New Zealand) 1988-1992

V.N. Misra (India) 1984-1988

Jack Golson (Australia) 1980-1984

Wilhelm G. Solheim II (U.S.A.) 1976-1980