Dear All,

The eight-year term of the current IPPA Executive Committee Members has now expired.

Firstly, I would like to thank the current members of the Executive Committee: Berenice Bellina-Pryce, Charles Higham, Le Thi Lien, Victor Paz, Himanshu Ray, Miriam Stark, Glenn Summerhayes and the late Nishimura Masanari for their commitment to IPPA and expert advice over the past eight years.

New membership of the committee is now sought.

The committee supports the Secretary General in decision-making and will be responsible for deciding where the next IPPA congress in 2022 will be held.

The Executive Committee is voted in by the membership of IPPA. That means all of you have a vote on who joins the committee.

I will first need nominations. Anyone can be nominated for consideration as a committee member. Please nominate individuals who you think can best represent your region within the IPPA community. Discuss with colleagues who you would like to nominate to the committee, and make sure the individual is willing to take up the position, if elected.

Once elected, the membership will be from mid-2019 until mid-2027.

The IPPA Constitution also has the following rules with regards to the Executive membership

“The elected members of the Executive Committee shall be kept as widely representative as possible. No more than two members shall be citizens of the same country. Each of the four general areas covered by IPPA shall be represented by at least one elected member who is a citizen, resident or specialist in that area. These areas are: Northeast Asia (Russia east of 70° longitude, Korea, Japan, China), Southeast Asia (including Madagascar), South Asia (India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan), and Oceania (Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific Islands). Not more than four elected members shall be from countries not included in the area covered by IPPA. No elected Executive Committee member shall be re-nominated to fill the vacancy created by that member’s completion of term.

So, please – we need nominations from across the IPPA region of interest. As the constitution states, individuals can be nominated from outside, and act as a representative for the region in which they specialise (but no more than 4). None of the current Executive Committee members can be re-elected.

Could you please submit your nominations for the Executive Committee by the Close of business (Australian time) on Friday 18th January 2019.


Prof. Philip J. Piper

IPPA Secretary-General